Gnod┬áis the brain child of someone whose name I cannot find. But that doesn’t matter. Gnod is this really quite useful experiment in artificial intelligence. This is the official description:

“Gnod is my experiment in the field of artificial intelligence. It’s a self-adapting system, living on this server and ‘talking’ to everyone who comes along. Gnod’s intention is to learn about the outer world and to learn ‘understanding’ its visitors. This enables Gnod to share all its wisdom with you in an intuitive and efficient way. You might call it a search-engine to find things you don’t know about.”

You go to the site and select either Gnod Books, Gnod Music, and Gnod Movies. You type into the selected fields what author/bands/movies you like and Gnod will spit out some possible matches, based on what other people have liked.

For example, on Gnod Music, I entered M83, My Bloody Valentine and Portishead. This is what it gave me:

If your eyes can see, the one band it gave me was The Field. So, I listened to them. And I dug them. Gnod is winning! I’ve already heard a lot of the bands surrounding The Field in the map. Oh, the closer any band is to the centre band, the more you’ll allegedly like them. That works. I love M83.

OK, round two: books. My favourite author is Cormac McCarthy, so:

I’m getting a lot of Philip Roth, two of them actually. Ian McEwan is up there, along with Raymond Carver, and one Jim Harrison, who I long to read but cannot find anywhere! All these authors I’ve yet to feast upon and here is Gnod, telling me I’d dig them. Word up, Gnod.

I might as well hit up Gnod Movies, just for shits and gigs. Staying with the Cormac McCarthy theme, my favourite movie is, by an arm and a mile, No Country for Old Men:

This one’s a little harder to read. Gnod thinks there’s four films that I’d love just as much at NCFOM. There Will Be Blood, yes, I liked it; The Lives of Others, never seen it; Eastern Promises, never seen it; The Simpson’s Movie…..f’real? OK, so Gnod seems to have slipped up a little in this department. My choice was but one of thousands upon thousands of permutations you could create. It’s not going to be perfect. It could, however lead you to a book, author, band or film you might never have come across without it.

It did it today for me with music. Win.

SDH

P.S. It’s fucking windy today and the BoSox should have a new manager before nightfall. Word.

